Knowledge Base


Search by either entering keywords or by selecting a product.

How to create Share Folder Snapshot on TeraStation 6000


Snapshot is a function that creates a virtual copy of the data currently stored in a shared folder or iSCSI volume on the TeraStation. Once a snapshot has been created and saved, files and folders that are subsequently modified or deleted can be restored from the point at which the snapshot was created.
The created snapshots will be saved on the TeraStation. As with any file, if a drive or array malfunctions, all saved snapshots on that drive or array will be unrecoverable along with the data.

 

Shared Folder Snapshot
1.    From the File Sharing tab, Click the settings icon to the right of “Folder Setup”.

2.    Click the number under “Snapshot” for the shared folder on the shared folder list.
 


3.    Click Create.


4.    Select or clear the “Lock snapshot” checkbox to determine whether the created snapshot will be locked or unlocked. A locked snapshot will not be deleted by auto-archiving.
Enter a short description if desired, then click OK.


5.    The snapshot will be created on the shared folder.

 
Note: Up to 1024 snapshots can be created for a shared folder. We recommend keeping no more than 65,536 snapshots total on a TeraStation. If you have created more than 65,536 snapshots, it may result in unexpected system behavior and slowdown.

 

Schedule Snapshots
The TeraStation allows you to not only create a snapshot manually, but also schedule automatic snapshots and auto-archive them to save TeraStation capacity.

If you want to create a snapshot for the purpose of regular backups, follow the procedure below.
1.    At the Snapshot list window of the Share you want to schedule snapshot, click Advanced Settings at the lower-left corner of the window.

2.    At the Schedule tab, click Enable to enable schedule snapshot.
 
3.    Select the day of the week and time for when to automatically create a snapshot. Then Click OK.


Snapshot Archiving
If you regularly create snapshots, it will use up capacity on the TeraStation. Snapshot archive settings will allow you to save capacity on created snapshots by automatically deleting older snapshots. You can set either a version-based or a timeline-based rule to delete snapshots.
Note: The locked snapshots will be kept even if archive settings are in effect.


1.    At the Snapshot list window of the Share you want to schedule snapshot, click Advanced Settings at the lower-left corner of the window.

2.    At the Auto Archive  tab, select the rule to keep the snapshots.


Accessing the Snapshots via SMB

1.    Click the Shared folder from the Shared Folder list to access snapshots from the computer.

2.    Click the Option 2 tab.  Make sure Shadow Copy is Enabled and click OK.

3.    From the computer, access the TeraStation using File Explorer and right-click on the shared folder that need to view snapshots.

 
       Click Restore previous versions.

4.    The entire history of created snapshots will appear. Select the snapshot and the action to be taken for the snapshot.

 

You can also access the snapshots on TeraStation by direct address without restoring them.


5.    Click on the Snapshot you want to access.

 

6.    The address for accessing the Snapshot will be shown. You can click “Copy to Clipboard” to copy the address.

7.    Paste the address to File Explorer then you will be able to see the snapshot contents.

 

Restoring Share Folder Snapshots
Note: When restoring snapshots, the file sharing service will restart so shared folders will become inaccessible temporarily.

1.    At the Snapshot list window of the Share you want to restore snapshot, select the checkbox for the target snapshot and then click Restore.

 

2.    A new snapshot of the current state will be created before restoring the snapshot.
Select or clear the “Lock snapshot” checkbox to determine whether the created snapshot will be locked or unlocked. A locked snapshot will not be deleted by auto-archiving.
Enter a short description if desired, then click OK.


Click OK when completed.

X